Karen Spärck Jones Award 2023 – Timeline for nominations


Professor Jochen Leidner  has been the Chair of the KSJ Awards panel since 2019. As his term of office has now come to a conclusion Dr. Haiming Liu (University of Southampton) is taking on the role for the next three years. The Award now alternates between ECIR and the Annual Conference of the European Chapter of the Association for Computational Linguistics promote integration between the IR and NLP communities. Karen Spärck Jones was an active member of both communities.

The call for nominations of KSJ Award 2023 will be out soon. Detailed information about the award and the nomination can also be found on the BCS IRSG KSJ Award page. The 2023  Award lecture will take place at EACL 2024, the location of which has not yet been confirmed

Timeline for the 2023 Award:

  • 1 September 2023 — closing date for nominations;
  • 8 September 2023 — deadline for support letters;
  • 8 December 2023 — notification of the prize recipient;
  • April 2024 — recipient presents keynote at EACL 2024.

IRSG would like to thank Microsoft Research Cambridge, the generous sponsors of the Award.

For further information please contact Dr Haiming Liu (KSJ Award Chair 2023-2025), h.liu@soton.ac.uk

About Martin White
Martin White

Martin is an information scientist and the author of Making Search Work and Enterprise Search. He has been involved with optimising search applications since the mid-1970s and has worked on search projects in both Europe and North America. Since 2002 he has been a Visiting Professor at the Information School, University of Sheffield and is currently working on developing new approaches to search evaluation.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.