IRSG 2021-2022 AGM Committee Elections

The IRSG Annual General Meeting (AGM) took place immediately after Search Solutions 2021, where the committee election results were announced.  The full list of current committee members is now available on the IRSG governance page.

Incoming committee members are Tony Russell-Rose (Vice-Chair), Graham McDonald (Ordinary Committee Member) and Annalina Caputo (ECIR 2023 Committee Member). Existing Committee members that have transition to new new positions are Steven Zimmerman (Secretary), Yashar Moshfeghi (Inclusion Officer) and Jochen Leidner (Events Coordinator). Full details of the BCS IRSG committee are provided on our governance page.

We wish to thank outgoing committee members Stefan Rueger (Past-Chair) Martin White (Vice-Chair), Andy MacFarlane (Committee Member), Dyaa Albakour (Committee Member) and Joao Magalhaes (ECIR 2021 Committee Member) for their service. In particularly, we wish send a particular thank you to Andy MacFarlane whom served various roles on the committee for 25 consecutive years.

As is the unfortunate trend with many BCS committee elections, all positions were uncontested. As a reminder our elections take place every Autumn, so please watch our governance page and the IR listserv to which you can subscribe to for future election announcements.  We are very keen to have new members on our committee.

Steve Zimmerman (Honorary Secretary)

About Steven Zimmerman
Steven Zimmerman

Steven Zimmerman is a PhD student at the University of Essex. His research interests are in the areas of IR, NLP and event prediction. He is currently involved with the Human Rights Big Data and Technology project. His work is focussed on development of methods to enable users with better tools and transparency for their experience in information retrieval platforms and to be better informed about the information they view. His research ultimately addresses concerns around freedom of expression, censorship, privacy as well as misinformation and toxic media.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.