IRSG Supported Events

Past Events


  • Informer

    Read about IRSG activity in the latest Edition of Informer.
  • How to apply
    If you are intrested in becoming a IT professional.
  • BCS-IRSG postcard

    Join the BCS-IRSG!

Web Badge

  • Visit
    If you are a member of the BCS IRSG show your affiliation by displaying our Web Badge on your page. Click here for code.

Microsoft BCS/BCS IRSG Karen Spärck Jones Award
An Award to Commemorate Karen Spärck Jones

The British Computer Society Information Retrieval Specialist Group (BCS IRSG) in conjunction with the BCS created an award in 2008 to commemorate the achievements of Karen Spärck Jones.

KSJ Karen was a Professor Emerita of Computers and Information at the University of Cambridge and one of the most remarkable women in computer science. Her contributions to the fields of Information Retrieval (IR) and Natural Language Processing (NLP), especially with regard to experimentation, have been outstanding and highly influential. Karen's achievements resulted in her receiving a number of prestigious accolades such as the BCS Lovelace medal for her advancement in Information Systems, and the ACM Salton Award for her significant, sustained and continuing contributions to research in information retrieval.

The IRSG is grateful to Microsoft Research for their sponsorship of the Karen Spärck-Jones award.

Sponsered by:
Microsoft Research

Timeline (for the 2015 Award to be presented at ECIR 2016):

  • 7 September 2015 — closing date for nominations
  • 21 September 2015 — deadline for support letters
  • 6 December 2015 — notification of the prize recipient
  • 21–23 March 2016 — recipient presents keynote at ECIR

Contact: Stefan Rüger,, The Open University
For further details see: The KSJ 2015 Award Flyer

Recipient of the Karen Spärck Jones award 2014

Ryen White
Senior Researcher at Microsoft Research
Redmond, USA

The award panel recognises that Ryen White has contributed in many layers to a better understanding of search interaction, eg, through novel and creative analyses of vital and as of yet unexplored aspects of searcher behavior closely coupled with the development of models and applications for improving the search experience. The panel was highly impressed by Ryen's academic output, many as leading or sole author, using experimental methods of large-scale log analyses, user studies and surveys. His sheer productivity, the take-up of his work in academia and a number of best paper awards at prestigious conferences including ACM SIGIR (3x), ACM CIKM, ACM SIGCHI and in JASIST speak for themselves. It is also a hallmark of Ryen's professional activity that he continued to serve the academic community though reviewing, track chairing and PC co-chairing at top conferences, editorial board memberships and guest editing while being a researcher in industry.

Ryen gave a keynote at ECIR 2015 on Mining and Modelling Online Health Search. The slides of his lecture are available here

Recipient of the 2013 award

Eugene Agichtein
Associate Professor
Mathematics and Computer Science Department
Emory University, Atlanta, USA

In making the BCS/ BCS IRSG Karen Spärck-Jones Award for 2013, the Panel strongly recognizes that Eugene Agichtein has made several important contributions in search and large scale web text data mining with a focus on user interaction data. Eugene's work has included demonstrating how models of human information interactions can be inferred by leveraging computational techniques on what are large-scale but also noisy behaviour records. His work has been very influential - the depth of which across several areas is impressive.

Eugene has focused on understanding and modelling user interaction in web search and collaborative question answering. For example, he has shown that click through and other forms of implicit feedback are useful for improving search results ranking when gathered across large numbers of users. This is one area of contribution where his work is seen as particularly influential. Eugene's work includes mouse movements and prediction of responses to advertising, and has reached out to other domains too. Overall, Eugene Agichtein's work is regarded as that of an excellent experimentalist that recognizes the critical linkages between information theory and experiment.

Eugene gave a keynote speech at ECIR 2014.

Recipient of the 2012 award

Diane Kelly
Associate Professor
University of North Carolina, NC, USA

In making the BCS/ BCS IRSG Karen Spärck-Jones Award for 2012, the Panel strongly recognizes that Diane has made important contributions to: the analysis of information seeking behaviors, and to the development of new experimental methods and systems to support information seeking and analysis.

Diane has made several other important contributions to user modeling using implicit indicators of relevance, the development and analysis of interfaces to elicit richer statements of interest, and new methodologies for designing and evaluating interactive retrieval systems. Her strong user-oriented work views users-as-people with cognitive tasks.

Diane gave a keynote speech at ECIR 2013. The slides of her talk are available for download

No award was made in 2011

Recipient of the 2010 award

Evgeniy Gabrilovich
Senior Research Scientist and Manager of the NLP & IR Group of Yahoo! Research, California, U.S.

Evgeniy gave a keynote speech at ECIR 2011. The abstract of his talk and his bio is available.

Recipient of the 2009 award

The first recipient of the KSJ award is

Mirella Lapata
Reader (Assoc Prof)
School of Informatics
University of Edinburgh

Mirella's research has focused on various problems in NLP mostly with an emphasis on statistical methods and text generation applications. She has worked on complex problems like: word sense disambiguation, ambiguity resolution, semantic vector space, story generation, and many others.

The abstract of her talk at ECIR 2009 and her bio is available for download.